So, you need to remove gluten & dairy?
Just a few more things as you are getting prepared to be insanely successful with your Elimination Diet. It may be extremely helpful to clean out your kitchen cabinets and refrigerator of all tempting foods.Remind your family, friends and co-workers that you will be eating different foods.Create an index card with your sensitivities and add them to your phone. Gluten, Dairy and Eggs are some of the most common food allergens and sensitivities. Because of that, we have a focused section on how to successfully transition these foods out of your life – at least for 3 – 6 months. You will learn when and how to add these foods, and others back into your diet.
Understanding your Gluten & Dairy
If you are ready to engage in a Gluten Free diet, there is a lot you need to know. It’s not as simple as removing bread and pasta. There are many items that seem harmless but when you look deeper, gluten lurks. Many seasonings and processed foods are derived from Malt Barley. That is a key ingredient that ensures the food is not gluten free. It is also important to look for items that may have gluten due to cross-contamination. This means it’s normally gluten free but may have been processed in a plant with gluten containing foods. It’s time to dig in to the nitty, gritty details. Let’s go through hidden sources and what you CAN eat. It’s important to look for foods with GF (Gluten Free) on the labels. Hidden Sources of Gluten – Beyond Bread, Pasta & Baked Goods Food Additives & Preservatives: Modified food starch, Malt, Yeast extract derived from Barley, “Flavoring”, Powdered Seasonings, “Added Ingredients”, Coffee Flavorings
Condiments:Sauces, Dressings, BBQ Sauces, Marinades, Soy Sauce, Teriyaki Sauce, Ketchup if it’s made with malt vinegar, English Mustard, Pickles, Nuts with coatings or due to cross contamination.
Processed Foods:Creamed soups, Taco seasonings, Cooking Sprays, Broth, Yeast Spreads, Sausage, Beef Jerky, Imitation Meats and Seafood, Meatless/Vegan Meats, Deli Meats, Boxed Rice Mixes, Restaurant Scrambled Eggs, Cheese Sauces, “Added Seasonings”, French Fries, Chips with flavoring, Ice cream Bars, Candy such as licorice, Chocolate, Scrambled egg mixtures.
Cereal/Nuts:Corn Flakes, Oats, Granola – (Either due to cross contamination or wheat content). Nuts with coatings or due to cross contamination.
Cheese:
Cheese with added flavors, ie. Beer Cheese. Blue cheese derived from wheat.
DairyThere are also hidden sources of Dairy that you many not consider. Components of Cow’s Milk include Casein and Whey. So, to be completely Dairy Free, you will need to read ingredient lists and eliminate the following. Foods to Eliminate:Cow’s Milk, Cheese, Yogurt, Ice Cream, Cottage Cheese, Sour Cream, Butter Milk & Butter, CreamCoffee CreamersBaked goods that include any of the aboveSalad Dressings made from the aboveChocolateProtein Drinks made with WheyDiacetyl – flavoringGheeLactalbuminLactoferrinRecaldent (in gum, mints, even toothpaste)Rennet casein Dairy Replacements – Look in the dairy section for cheese alternatives; Oat Milk, Almond Milk, Soy Milk, Cashew Milk and other nut drinks. It’s important to look for foods with Dairy Free on the labels.
Beverages:
Beer, Hard Lemonades, Wine Coolers, Cocktail Mixers Dietary Supplements:
Read the labels. Gel caps and binders Gluten Free Options – Always check for cross contamination






